Jean E. Robillard, MD

Jean RobillardInterim President, Vice President for Medical Affairs

University of Iowa

Jean E. Robillard, M.D., is the university’s vice president for medical affairs, appointed to the post in January 2007 after serving four years as dean of the Carver College of Medicine.

Robillard also became interim president of the University Iowa Aug. 1, 2015 and serves as chairman of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee, charged with identifying a candidate pool from which the Iowa Board of Regents will select the next permanent UI president.

As vice president, he led the integration of UI Hospitals and Clinics, the Carver College of Medicine, and the UI Physicians group practice into University of Iowa Health Care, the state of Iowa’s only comprehensive academic medical center.  He has expanded medical services to better meet Iowa community needs, including a new ambulatory care facility at Coralville’s Iowa River Landing.

Robillard also championed development of the John and Mary Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building, home to the Pappajohn Biomedical Institute, the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, and other leading research programs. His work has helped shape the future of collaborative research at the UI.

A pediatric nephrologist whose work focuses on the developmental physiology of the kidney, Robillard has published more than 200 scientific papers. Prior to his appointment as UI Carver College of Medicine dean, he was chair and professor of Pediatrics at the University of Michigan and physician-in-chief at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital.

A Montreal native, he earned bachelor’s and medical degrees from the University of Montreal; trained in Montreal, Los Angeles, and Iowa City; and joined the University of Iowa faculty in 1976 as an assistant professor.  He advanced to professor in 1982 and was named vice chair of the Department of Pediatrics in 1987.

Robillard is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and in 2006 served as Chair of the Board of Directors for the American Board of Pediatrics.  He is also a member of the American Clinical and Climatological Association, the Iowa Business Council and Rotary International.